Bo Ruberg Wins Stonewall Book Award

13 Feb, 2021

Bo Ruberg Wins Stonewall Book Award

Since 1971, the Stonewall Book Award - Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award has been presented to English language books that have "exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience." This year, alum Bo Ruberg's The Queer Games Avant Garde: How LGBTQ Game Makers are Reimagining the Medium of Video Games was honored with the award!

Bo's The Queer Games Avant Garde includes twenty interviews with twenty-two queer video games developers whose radical, experimental, vibrant, and deeply queer work is driving a momentous shift in the medium of video games. Their insights go beyond typical conversations about LGBTQ representation in video games or how to improve "diversity" in digital media. Instead, they address queer game-making practices, the politics of queer independent video games, the future of queer video games and technology, and more.

Check out the Stonewall Book Awards Announcement here!

Check out The Queer Games Avant-Garde here!